RSS

Garlic comes later

13 Jan

Menu: Bacon wrapped, paleo friendly Meatloaf; sauteed beet greens; chili roasted vegetables; apple crisp

Creator of delicousness: FFB

This weeks dinner kept us honest on portion sizes as the high protein meatloaf was very filling. We were all feeling hungry and served ourselves 2 slices of meatloaf each. The high protein made it only possible to eat 1 slice. There were discussions with a friend of what to use in place of bread crumbs or rolled oats if one has adopted the Paleo-dietary lifestyle. A quick internet search showed potential success with almond meal or coconut flour. Because meat loaf was said out loud on the phone, I think another household had meatloaf for dinner.

I will post the recipe as I wish I had made it. Our onion hater was absent this week so I went heavy on the onions in the meatloaf. When I make this next I will soften/saute the onions and garlic before adding them to the raw mixture. We decided the garlic flavour would be noticeable in the leftovers or as we indelicately discovered……garlic came later……in burps.

20130113-193940.jpg
Veggie sides for this dinner were plain and simple, oven roasted zucchini, parsnips, turnips and carrots. Tossed with olive oil and lightly dusted with chili flakes for a bit of kick. The beat greens were added because I really only like to eat them the day I bring them home from the store. My fridge tends to wilt greens very quickly. I stovetop steamed them with a little palm sugar.

paleo friendly meatloaf

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
